Miami Heat

Miami Heat

The Miami Heat are a professional basketball team. They are located in Miami, Florida. The Miami Heat is competing in the National Basketball Association (NBA), Southeast Division in the Eastern Conference. The home games are played at the American Airlines Arena, located in the downtown Miami. The owner of this team is Micky Arison. He also owns the Carnival Corporation, a cruise-ship giant. The head coach is Erik Spoelstra and general manager and team president is Pat Riley. An anthropomorphic fireball called Burnie is the mascot of the Miami Heat.

This club was formed in 1988 as one of the 4 expansion franchises in the NBA. They won league championships in: 2006, 2012 and 2013. They also won: 11 division titles and 5 conference titles. The Heat achieved the second-longest streak in the NBA history, by winning 27 consecutive games! The record is held by the Los Angeles Lakers (33 consecutive matches won). The Heat is the 6th most value team in the NBA, with a revenue of $625 million! The Miami Heat has no connections with the Miami Floridians, an ABA team from 70’s.

The original Miami Heat uniforms consist of simple striping only on the right side and shorts. The home uniforms were white with orange, black and red trim. The away uniforms were black with orange, white and red trim. These uniforms were used since 1988 to 1999. The uniforms Miami Heat players are wearing today are first used during the 2001-2002 season. They are red, featuring the number and city name in black and white trim. The biggest rivals are: New York Knicks, Chicago Bulls, Boston Celtics, Indiana Pacers, Dallas Mavericks and San Antonio Spurs.