University of Oklahoma

University of Oklahoma

The sport teams from the University of Oklahoma are called Sooners. They are competing in the NCAA division I Bowl Subdivision and in the Big 12 Conference. This university has won 18 NCAA teams National championships and 7 football national championships. The most famous sports program of the OU is the football program. Since 1950’s, this program has been responsible for making 5 Heisman Trophy winners (Steve Owens, Billy Vessels, Billy Sims, Jason White and Sam Bradford). This university holds a record, for 47 consecutive won games from 1953 to 1957! Sports available for men are: baseball, basketball, cross country, football, tennis, golf, gymnastics, track & field and wrestling. For women: basketball, cross country, gymnastics, golf, soccer, softball, rowing, track & field, volleyball and tennis.

Their wrestling team is one of the best! It has won championships in in 1936, 1951, 1952, 1957, 1960, 1963 and 1974. Other teams that have won championships are: men's gymnastics team 5 times, softball in 2000 and baseball team in 1994. The revenue of their athletic department is $124 million. Average attendance per football match is 84.700 and for the basketball is 9.800.

The biggest rival of the OU is the University of Texas. It is known as the Red River Rivalry, Red River Shootout or OU –Texas. The University of Texas has a better score, 59-43-5! Other rivals are: Oklahoma State University (the rivalry is known as Bedlam Series) and University of Nebraska.

The OU made an football history, in 2008, when they scored 60 or more points in 5 consecutive games! They made this record during their match versus University of Missouri.